We moved and I crochet

Since we moved from Amsterdam in October, I haven’t really find subjects to write on. We’ve been emptying boxes, settling in, starting with toddler groups… However, there is one thing that drastically changed since we moved: what I do with my free time.

Source: Jade, flickr.com
Source: Jade, flickr.com

My son napping for two to three hours everyday is great, it gives me a lot of free time. Back in Amsterdam, I used it to watch TV, write, or, most of the time, go on Facebook and follow the links you can find there.

Except that, now, most of the Facebook groups I am registered to and the links I receive are about our old life in Amsterdam: the mums’ groups, the expat group, the selling-used-stuff groups, the knitting group, the events and meetings, etc. So I don’t really spend time on Facebook anymore. Same with emails and my usual meet-up and shopping spams: it’s all about Amsterdam – maybe I should clean up, but I don’t dare to yet.

Source: Chase Clark, flickr.com
Source: Chase Clark, flickr.com
Puff sticth, source: Sere, flickr.com
Puff stitch, source: Sere, flickr.com

Instead I sit down on the sofa, put a SF series on, and crochet. Blankets, bags and baskets, and scarves. I’m making gifts and things for the house. I don’t know what I would have done in the last weeks without crochet, especially with the weather we’ve had. It’s keeping me busy in the quiet residential village that we chose and where we don’t really know anyone yet. It’s relaxing, creative AND productive. I buy wool in bulk after the toddler groups we go to or during the knitting&crochet chats, or whenever I can, and everytime I buy wool it feels like Christmas – though I’m going to have to slow down, it’s getting expensive…

So… Back to the sofa 😉

Source: H is for Home, flickr.com
Source: H is for Home, flickr.com
3 thoughts on “We moved and I crochet

Leave a Reply

